IRS Extends Tax Filing Deadline For Kentucky Tornado Victims

The IRS has extended the tax filing deadline for Kentucky tornado victims and those affected by the natural disaster, who will now have until May 16, 2022 to file various individual and business tax returns and make tax payments.

Following the recent disaster declaration issued by FEMA, the IRS is providing this relief to taxpayers affected by storms, tornadoes, and flooding that took place on Dec. 10 in parts of Kentucky.


Currently, the IRS says the relief is available to affected taxpayers who live in/have a business in Caldwell, Fulton, Graves, Hopkins, Marshall, Muhlenberg, Taylor, and Warren counties; additional counties may be added.


The extended deadline includes 2021 individual income tax returns due on April 18, as well as various 2021 business returns normally due on March 15 and April 18.


In addition, farmers who choose to forgo making estimated tax payments and normally file their returns by March 1 will now have until May 16, 2022, to file their 2021 return and pay any tax due.


The IRS says it will also provide the same relief to any other localities designated by FEMA.


In addition, penalties on payroll and excise tax deposits due on or after Dec. 10 and before Dec. 27 will be abated as long as the deposits are made by Dec. 27, 2021.


You can read the full announcement on the extension at

Feel free to reach out to us – we are here to help.

Did you find it useful?


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top